Chair – Nauru

Ambassador Marlene Moses

Ambassador Marlene Moses has been the Permanent Representative to the United Nations for the Republic of Nauru since 2005. She also serves as Nauru’s Ambassador to the United States, Israel, Venezuela, and Cuba. From 2009 to 2011, Ambassador Moses was Chair of the Pacific Small Island Developing States at the United Nations. During her tenure, she successfully spearheaded a campaign that led to the UN Security Council recognising the link between climate change and security in July 2011. Before coming to New York she worked in a variety of public administration and diplomatic positions for the government of Nauru. Ambassador Moses attended the University of Canberra and Monash University, both in Australia. She became Chair of AOSIS in January 2012.



Ambassador Antonio Lima, Vice Chair Cape Verde

Mr. Monteiro Lima has served as the Ambassador of Cape Verde to the United Nations since 23 August, 2007. Previously, he was the Political and Diplomatic Adviser to the President, a post he held since August 2001, while serving concurrently as the Head of State’s Permanent Representative to the International Organization of La Francophonie and Chairman of the National Francophonie Committee.

From January 1999 to June 2001, he was stationed in Lome, Togo, as Director of the Communications, Compensation and Development Fund of the Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS), having been the Fund’s Secretary-General from June 1992 to December 1998.

Mr. Monteiro Lima was Secretary of State for External Affairs and Emigration from 1990 to 1991, having served as Director-General for Political, Economic and Cultural Affairs in the Ministry of External Affairs between 1988 and 1990. From 1985 to 1987 he was the Diplomatic Adviser to the Presidency.

A career diplomat, Mr. Monteiro was non-resident Ambassador Plenipotentiary to Guinea-Bissau (1983-1990) and Algeria (1982-1990). From 1975 to 1981, he was Chief of the Africa, Asia and Oceania Department in the Directorate-General of Political, Economic and Cultural Affairs at the External Affairs Ministry.

Mr. Monteiro Lima was educated at the Université de Paris VIII and the Université de Tours, both in France.

Contact Information:
Permanent Mission of Cape Verde to the United Nations
27 East 69th Street
New York, NY 10021

Ambassador Janine Coye Felson

Ambassador Janine Coye Felson has been the Deputy Permanent Representative to the United Nations for Belize since 2008. Prior to that she served as the Belize Mission’s Minister Counsellor. Ambassador Felson has been her country’s Head of Delegation to the regular sessions of the General Assembly since 2005 and has served on its delegation to the UN Climate Change Conference since 2007. She is a former Chair of the Latin American Caribbean Regional Group and Caucus of the Permanent Representatives of the Member States of the Caribbean Community.

From 2005 to 2008, Ambassador Felson was a Member of the Bureau of the Assembly of States Parties to the Rome Statute establishing the International Criminal Court. She has served in a variety of roles as a legal counsel and facilitator on economic and diplomatic issues in the Caribbean region and received advanced training at the Columbia University School of Law and the University of Durham in the United Kingdom. She has a law degree from the University of Wisconsin-Madison School of Law and a B.A. in English from St. Louis University.

Scroll to top